Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#90571 02-23-2009 05:50 PM
Sam K. Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi All,
I'm 31 year old male and I have been smoking for about 13 years and drink a lot. Back in December I had a white spot appear on the inside of my mouth near the back and it ached for about a day and I ended up getting a cold which i quickly recovered from. I thought it was just from the cold but last month I did a routine check of my mouth and it is still there. Went to the doctors office last month in January and did a quick swab test which came out negative and the doctor told me if it doesn't go away in a few more weeks to come schedule a biopsy. Well it's been past few more weeks and I also tried antibiotics and it's still there. Also, I know it's allergy season but I never had allergies this severe before and sometimes I get mild ear aches. Has anyone else had allergies and cancer and could the cancer be causing the extreme allergies?? I have a biopsy scheduled for March 5th but am scared and have quit smoking since I found out.

-Sam

Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Hi Sam and welcome to OCF. First congrats on quitting. Second..I'm happy to hear you have a biopsy scheduled. It has been my experience that if something in your mouth doesn't heal within 2 weeks or so it's time to get it biopsied. As far as an allergy/cancer relation, I have not heard of anything like that.

I wish you much luck and please let us know what happens. Always feel free to ask any questions you can think of.

Suzanne

Suzanne
T1 SCC on right side of tongue
Age 31...27 when diagnosed
4 partial glossectomies
No chemo or radiation
Biopsy on 2/2/10-Clear
Surgery needed again...no later than April 2011
Loving life and just became a mother on 11/25/10
It's not what we CAN'T do..it's what we CAN do:)
Sam K. Offline OP
OP Offline

Thanks Suzanne and congratulations on your upcoming wedding!

-Sam

Senior Patient Advocate