Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Supporting Member (50+ posts)
OP Offline

I am a physician who had been diagnosed with throat cancer four years ago. I very much appreciate the care and support I received from my family, However, I personally experienced the great strain and challenges they faced in caring for me. I realized that there is a need to highlight and improve the attention given to care givers of patients with cancer.

Being a care giver for a loved one with a serious illness such as head and neck cancer is very difficult. It can be extremely hard to watch their loved one suffer especially if there is little that they can do to reverse the illness. It can be physically and emotionally very taxing. Care givers should, however, realize how important is what they are doing even when they get no or little appreciation.

Care givers often fear the potential death of their loved one and life without them. This can be very anxiety provoking and depressive. Some cope by refusing to accept the diagnosis of cancer and believe that their loved ones illness is less serious in nature.

Care givers often sacrifice their own well being and needs to accommodate those of the person they care for. They often have to calm down their loved one�s fears and support them despite being often the target of their vented anger, frustrations and anxieties. These frustrations may be exaggerated in those with head and neck cancer who have often difficulties in expressing themselves verbally. Care givers frequently suppress their own feelings and hide their own emotions so as not to upset the sick person. All of this is very taxing and difficult.