Next Thread
Print Thread
#72144 03-30-2008 02:20 PM
Geo Offline OP
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

Hello,

This is my first time using this. I appreciate any and all help that can be given to me/my dad.

My dad has been recently dx with Stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the mouth involving 4 lymph nodes. He has recently (Jan 08) undergone surgical removal of the mandible and lymph nodes and currently doing radiation tx (finished 12 treatments of 33). First he had scar tissue in the left cheek which caused swelling on the left side. Now this swelling has left the check and is in the throat area. He describes the feeling of having broken bottles pieces moving in the throat area. It is particularly uncomfortable when he talks alot. Help! Has anyone gone through the same or similiar experience that can help my dad. Thank you.

Anxious caregiver.
Squamous cell ca cheek/jawbone/mandible/Stage IV positive lymph nodes.Surgery, Jan 08. Removal of cheek,removal of lymph nodes.Currently undergoing week4 of radiation treatment--to receive 33 treatment in all.Takes Fenyl patch and hydromorphine.
Senior Member (75+ posts)

Hi Geo,

Is your dad on any pain meds? Does he have a peg tube for feeding and medication? Could you put more information in your signature field where you have Anxious caregiver? Have you contacted your doctors about the symptoms he is having? There are a lot of people on this forum that can help out more if they had more information to go on.

Tom
SCC T4N1M0 left side tongue & 1 node
Dx 05/21/07 42 yrs old
40 Tx IMRT @ 70 Gy started 06/25/07
Cysplatin & 5fu 1st & 4th wks
treatment ended 08/23/07
"Above & Beyond" Member (300+ posts)
"Above & Beyond" Member (300+ posts)

Geo: Hello and welcome to OCF. You've come to the right place; there are many here who will be happy to help you and your family get through this difficult period.
As you can see below in my 'signature', my hubby (Buzz) had similiar surgery, followed by IMRT & chemo.