Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#60839 05-12-2007 02:35 PM
jordan Offline OP
Supporting Member (50+ posts)
OP Offline
Supporting Member (50+ posts)

I am a newbie to this site & I am 8 weeks out of radiation. I had radiation & 2 cycles of chemo- I have recently started eating & anything I eat takes FOREVER to get down & a gallon of water. It took me 25 minutes to eat a frozen waffle today. I'm trying to gain weight ( i still have my feeding tube but want to get rif of it). It is so hard to eat till I'm full cuz it takes me SO LONG...and my jaw gets sore from the chewing, chewing, chewing. PLEASE tell me it's not going to be like this forever. I may get my throat dialated. Does eating get back to normal in the future? Does the tongue stop burning? Thanks for the help. I'm 31 & love food....I'm praying I will be able to eat "normally" again someday.

SCC-tongueT3N0M0- IMRT 35times-1/07-3/07; along with one cycle of Cisplat & one cycle of Carboplat; weekly erbitux.finished all tx.3/07-supposedly gone. Recurrence 6/07. Age 31-non-smoker/social drinker. Devastated it's back.
#60840 05-12-2007 03:37 PM
"Above & Beyond" Member (300+ posts)

Jordan,

I went through very similar experiences when I was dealing with the after-effects of radiation. I always had to cut solid food into tiny pieces and rinse with lots of water to get them down my throat. As I recall (it's been a long time) it often took me two hours or so at lunch time and another two hours at dinner time to get something resembling a reasonable amount of nutrition.

It did get better over time, with lots of exercise of the chewing and swallowing muscles. While I've never become a "fast" eater, I was able to get much closer to a normal pace and really enjoy the taste of a wide variety of foods again. I was 39 when I was treated and I'm 57 now, and in retrospect the period of my life when my eating habits were seriously restricted has (thankfully) become a dim memory.