Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#39763 02-21-2006 03:07 PM
Bee Offline OP
OP Offline

Hello to all - I have been reading your boards for a few days, and find them to be extremely informative and supportive. This is my first time posting.

My father was diagnosed with t1n2bmo squamous cell with a tonsil primary two weeks ago -- he is getting ready to begin treatment at an excellent cancer center. I am confused because I am getting so much information and ultimately it seems to me as though there is no clear treatment path with this diagnosis...surgery, radiation and chemo were presented as options. The main question seems to be what to do first, as all are on the table.

I have read that surgery can make things worse, in a way, and even spur the micro cancer cells to grow faster. Have also heard that radiation plus chemo prior to surgery is better -- then again, have read that radiation+chemo (in that order) is best of all. It's confusing.

He has a very small primary tumor, but it has spread to neck nodes and is palpable in 3+ and appears to be growing quickly.

If any of you have any experience with something similar, I would appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks so much,
Bee

#39764 02-21-2006 04:13 PM
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)