Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
SD158 Offline OP
OP Offline

Diagnosed with Buccal Mucosa Cancer in March 2022. Surgery scheduled in 24 days. Overwhelmed with the extent of surgery and recovery ahead, so trying to learn from those who have been through this before me, and hopefully I can help others in the future.

More details: 47-year-old woman, no known risk factors but surprise - what I thought was a sore from biting my cheek at night turned out to be cancer. Biopsy, MRI, PET all done. Lymph nodes MAY be involved, so some of those are going away, too. It's far back in my cheek so going to be major reconstructive surgery in there with a plastic surgeon involved for a skin flap reconstruction inside my cheek. Never been hospitalized before, so I'm new to ALL of this.

What else should I share?

Thanks!

Assistant Administrator
Senior Member (100+ posts)
Assistant Administrator

Dear SD158

First, I am so sorry to hear this. Second, you have come to the right place. As you surely looked around the website and forum you can tell OCF has lots of people to help you. I did not have exactly the same situation as you. I was diagnosed with stage IV squamous cell cancer on my tongue in March of 2020. I too was not a smoker and only social drinker. They took half my tongue, all my lymph nodes on that side, gave me a trache tube to breath, and a nasal tube for feeding. About 8 weeks after surgery, I received 30 days of radiation (total of 60 Gray units) to tongue and neck area.