Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#200469 10-09-2020 04:54 AM
OP Offline

I’m 16 yrs out now and I’ve had plenty of experience with all the dental fun that comes with the amount of radiation I’ve experienced. My Endodontist just gave me the bad news I’m going to need root canals on all of my lower teeth. I’m wondering if anyone else has experienced this and how they were able to pay for it or run through medical vs dental insurance. Looking at $15K before crowns. Even if not this experience I’m open to suggestions for how to pay. smile. Pulling them is not an option, the teeth have fused to my jaw bone and the decay is bad enough we are worried about infection/narcosis. PS- I’m reassured this is very normal.

"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)
"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)

From my experience, root canals and crowns are covered by dental insurance, not medical. Most dental issuances plans do not pay much towards this. An extraction is at least partially covered by medical insurance.

Talk to the insurance person at your dental office, they may know of some dental insurance options that are available for you. My dental office told me about Aetna Dental Savings Plan - not an insurance, but you get a discount on different services. I did a little research into it last year, and may consider joining it.

Good luck!

Susan

SCC R-Lateral tongue, T1N0M0
Age 47 at Dx, non-smoker, casual drinker, HPV-
Surgery: June 2005
RT: Feb-Apr 2006
HBOT: 45 in 2008; 30 in 2013; 30 in 2022 -> Total 105!
Recurrence/Surgeries: Jan & Apr 2010
Biopsy 2/2011: Moderate dysplasia
Surgery 4/2011: Mild dysplasia
Dental issues: 2013-2022 (ORN)

Hello,