Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#200265 07-20-2020 05:06 PM
OP Offline

I am a five year survivor of oral Spindle CC left mandible (no Chemo/Radiation). Recently had surgery (4/30/20) for oral Squamous CC on left tounge. Removed 1/3 of tounge. Completed 33 radiation treatments 7/10.Managed not to have a feeding tube put in. I was a large guy so I had weight that I could loose. I could eat solid food until 6/10, and have been on a liquid diet since then. Lost 50 pounds. 25 pounds with surgery & 25 with radiation.
I am a Chef by trade and I'm hoping my taste buds return. They say I should be back to solid food in 3 to 6 weeks.

Last edited by Travisty; 07-20-2020 05:24 PM.
Travisty #200266 07-21-2020 06:38 AM
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
Contributing Member (25+ posts)

I too had 1/3 of my tongue removed (12/19/19) and completed radiation and chemo treatment (3/12/20). Everything tasted salty to me by the time my treatment was over. Once my mouth sores healed it took a month or two for my taste buds to return. Everyone is different so your results could vary. Hang in there!

The number of people involved in my care (@ a CCC) is humbling. Doctors, nurses, therapists, support staff, & of course, family. With everyone fighting for me to beat cancer the least I can do is fight back and win!
Travisty #200273 07-23-2020 01:15 AM
"OCF across the pond"
Gold Member (200+ posts)
"OCF across the pond"
Gold Member (200+ posts)

Hi Travisty,

I finished rads on Halloween last year. A lot of taste returned in March, but it's continuing to improve. I couldn't taste cherry (fresh or synthetic) until 2 weeks ago. I couldn't stand tea or coffee for ages. Some days my taste of certain foods disappear for a bit, but then comes back.