Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Cooper #198564 06-21-2019 07:52 AM
Cooper Offline OP
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

I called the office the ENT is at today and asked if she had received the report yet. Whomever I spoke with said “yes, I put it on her desk”... “what’s your phone number, the NP will call you.” Now I’m sitting here thinking all kinds of thoughts.

“Why isn’t the ENT calling me? Is it because she said nothing is wrong and now there is?”

“Is it because the NP is better at delivering news?”

And why isn’t my phone ringing yet... it’s been 20 minutes. Is the doctor briefing the NP on my report? I’m losing it. I’m at work so there’s not much I can do to settle my worries while I’m sitting here.

At what point can I call back and ask to speak to the NP as soon as possible? I’m not good with waiting.

Cooper #198566 06-21-2019 09:36 AM
Platinum Member (300+ posts)

it's been my experience that my husband rarely heard news from a worker alone even with good news. there was always a doctor in the background talking along with the worker. Are they allowed to call and give results? I don't know. I'm just thinking outloud.

Spouse of 58 yr old with BOT cancer
Stage 4a HPV16 positive
3 chemo treatments cisplantin
35 radiation treatments 7000 cGy
former smoker/chewed tobacco for 38 yrs.
1/2020 diagnosed with cancer near TMJ
4/2020 chemo 5 days every 2 weeks
6/2020 proton therapy
9/21/2020 cancer free
ConnieT #198568 06-21-2019 10:03 AM
Cooper Offline OP
OP Offline

I don’t know either. My doctor called and gave me the results of an abdominal CT I had. Other imaging I’ve done the radiologist has spoken to me right after.

I called back, apologized for being pushy but expresssd that I was anxious, receptionist was kind, took my number and said the doctor was in until 4 so she’d call me by then. Now I’m wondering if I really should have pushed to find out before the weekend.

Cooper #198571 06-21-2019 11:26 AM