Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#14640 11-22-2003 11:03 AM
OP Offline

Hello everyone. I am new to all of this and freaking out. I'm a 28 year old female. A few months ago I noticed a lump on the roof of my mouth (on the hard palate); didn't think anything of it since it didn't hurt and was close in color to normal mouth tissue. In September I went for my 6 month check up at the dentist and showed it to him but he didn't seem concerned. He said he would monitor it (I think it was about 4 mm) and check it again when I came back about a month later to get some fillings. When I went back he forgot about it...I reminded him of it and he said that it didn't look like it had changed size, but that I should possibly see an oral surgeon. I went to the OS and he did an x-ray, said he wasn't sure what it was and that they would remove it, biopsy it and take it from there. I had it removed on 11/19 (Wed) and on Friday the nurse calls around noon and says that my results are in, the doctor wants to see me on Monday. She also said that the doctor "suggested" that I bring my fiance with me if he is available (he took me for the surgery). Of course I freaked and asked if I could see the doctor today and she said that no, the doctor was done for the day and I would have to wait until Monday at 10:30. Now, I have never heard of anyone receiving good news and having to bring someone with them to hear it; plus who in their right mind calls someone with this type of thing on Friday afternoon and leaves them haning all weekend long?! Needless to say my myself and my fiance are furious and I have not been able to function all weekend. Also, I have a problem with surfing the net to look up ailments and finding the worst one and assuming I have it. I cannot believe my OS! Has this happened to anyone else? Other than the lump I do not have any other symptoms that I've noticed, like enlarged lypmh glands, sore throat etc. but am convinced that whatever I have is horrible. My hope ri