Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#14292 06-19-2003 07:16 PM
OP Offline

Hi All.

I'm sure these stories are posted often, so i'm just going to make some bullet points and i think everyone here will understand

- diagnosed Squamous Cell Carcinoma on 5/8
- tounge resection + neck dissection on 5/19
- tounge was T1, two tumors in lymph nodes
- 4 wisdom teeth out 6/6 (seemed more painful then neck dissection)
- need 6 weeks of radiation
- started radiation at Mayo Clinic (Rochester MN) on 6/18 (yesterday)
- no PEG yet, if i loose 20 more pounds will get one
- 23 years old
- almost married (was going to be 6/18, now postponed ~1 year)

I'm new at this whole thing and I'm still not even fully sure what's going on. My main question is, what should i ask my Radiation Oncologist tomorrow during my appointment? I don't even know what important questions i should ask.

any assistance you guys can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
David

#14293 06-20-2003 04:08 AM
OP Offline

probably should have mentioned that they've told me everything i need to know about side-effects.

i'm more interested in what i should ask about what type of radiation i'm getting. IMRT, Proton, what? any other questions i should ask?

#14294 06-26-2003 06:36 PM
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Hi David, I apologize for not replying sooner I was on vacation for the last few days.

First, I hope you are doing OK with your treatments. Second I think that Mayo is a top quality treatment center and that you hopefully are comfortable with the type of treatments you are receiving there. I am astounded with the number of young people like yourself that are facing this type of cancer! I want to pass along hope for you in this battle, and there are a number of people that will help if you have questions. Let us know how you are doing.