Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#13937 03-17-2003 09:15 AM
Dan-Q Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi everyone, i'm a newbie, found out last week.
Going to doc tonight for second opinion/surgery consult but it looks like i'm enjoying the last few day's with "a good bit" of my tongue.
So far the good news is he said there was nothing to biopsy besides the tongue itself which I think was stage 2. I have ct scans on wednesday of neck and chest.
I think I'm more scared of chemo than of the surgery, but I hear sometimes if your clean everywhere else they don't do chemo, that's what i'm hopin'.
Just wondering what's the recovery like from the tongue op? or the lymph nodes from neck? I'm hearing they might do that too.

dan

#13938 03-17-2003 11:43 AM
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Welcome, Dan. You sound like you have a positive attitude, and that will help you immensely along the way. As far as recovery, I didn't have anything done to my tongue, but had a tumor removed from the back of my mouth and a modified radical neck dissection. I was in the hospital for 8 days only because they were monitoring a graft. Two days after I got home, I was out doing yard work. The swelling took a while to go down, but I felt terrific. Everyone here will pretty much agree that the neck surgery is a piece of cake compared to other treatments. I am not aware of chemo being done without radiation, although radiation is often done without chemo. In either case you can get through it. Just look at it as a small price to pay for being alive (grin). There are lots of people here who have had tongue involvement who can help you, and if you do a search I am sure you can find information. Let us know how your CT scans come out.
Joanna

#13939 03-18-2003 02:59 AM
Dan-Q Offline OP
OP Offline