Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#135368 06-15-2011 10:00 AM
OP Offline

HI, Im new to this web site, my mom has Polymorhous low grade adenocarcinoma, she had her surgery one month ago, they removed three teeth and a large part of her hard and soft palatae.She also had some glands removed from her neck. she starts radiation on her nose and her neck in about a week. they said she will have no salivary glands left after the radiation (30 days) anyone out there have any words of wisdom on how this will go? the dr said she will have to spray her throat for the rest of her life. my heart breaks for my mom. its been so hard seeing her go through this horrible cancer. and a total emotional roller coaster for myself and my family. I would appreicate any info. thank you Patty

Last edited by patty2011; 06-15-2011 11:51 AM.
"OCF Canuck"
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
"OCF Canuck"

You mom will get through it with lots of support and love - radiation is hard - but doable! She should definitely take in as many calories now as she can - drink lots of fluids- too - and try to maintain her swallowing during treatment even if she's using a peg - i used cream religiously on the radiated areas - it helps with the burned skin - the baking soda water rinse is something I carried with me all the time. I rinsed my mouth frequently as it helps heal - assuming she ends up with mouth sores. (depends on where they radiate). Stop antioxidants if she's she's taking them. She will be fatigued - and she should be okay up to week 4 - after that it gets harder - and it's worse the two weeks following rads - it's cumulative. Good luck - take care and wish your mom the best!