Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#75490 06-11-2008 01:00 PM
DennisH Offline OP
OP Offline

Hello all,
I hope someone here can offer me help . This is my first time posting here. I have tonsillar cancer, have had tumorous tonsils removed, had 33 radiation treatments that ended 4 weeks ago. My life has been pretty miserable throughout the entire process. I have a tremendous amount of tongue pain on the side that was radiated. Also, a lot of pain in the tunor removal area and left side of throat - whereever the radiation was. But most importantly - in the tongue. I have lost 40 lbs. due to being unable to eat without major discomfort. I am hungry all the time but I just can't bear more than a few bites.

I am on round the clock pain meds which help, and lidocaine is swished at least 20 x a day just to get by. I feel like there is no end. I am sure it is getting worse. My ENT and rad. oncologist just keep telling to be patient. I could cry if I hear that again! This has turned my life upside down. The oncologist that did my Tx told me that the tonge was "damaged" by the radiation Tx. It is now swollen and any movement hurts. I am up most nights nursing this mouth. My question is: has any one had a similar experience? Will this ever get better? Any treatment suggestions other than just wait? Do you think the continual use of the lidocaine (it is in Majic Mouthwash) is detrimental or damaging?

Thank you all so much for your time and patience hearing my troublesome story. I am a father of 2 and my wife flys for an airline so I have to care for my kids, run a business and it is just plain hard.

Sincerely,
Dennis J. Hansen
[email protected]

Tonsillar Cancer - SCC - tonsilectomy (both) of tumerous tonsil 2/8/08 - 33 radiation treatments completed - no peg
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)