Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#25404 08-26-2002 05:38 PM
Misty Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi, I'm a 33 y/o F. I'm pretty concerned with a red patch on the side of my tongue. I've been putting off having it looked at for 6 months now. I guess I've always hoped that it would just go away. Well it hasn't and I'm pretty worried now. I finally saw the dentist who brought the oral surgeon over right away. Well I'm having a biopsy done on Wednesday. I've read a lot about white patches on the tongue...can anyone tell me if I should be concerned with a "red" patch? It is not hard or anything but sometimes has small lesions that get quite sore. It's about the size of a quarter. I've also read about a lump in the cheek (which I have) and also swollen lymph nodes (slightly swollen on the same side). I keep telling myself that it is nothing because I am so young and try to stay in great physical shape. If anyone has any thought, I'd really like to hear. Thanks!

#25405 08-28-2002 04:41 PM
OCF Founder
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
OCF Founder

Please remember that I know nothing about your particular situation, and what I say may not apply to you. So..... just the facts. The majority of oral cancers are associated with two types of tissue abnormalities, leukoplakia (white), and erythroplakia (red). Occasionally there are lesions which are mixed red and white. The more dangerous of the two is erythroplakia. As you have read from many of the posts here, and in the body of the web site, neck swelling is also a possible sign of cancer. Please remember that there are benign things which mimic these cancer symptoms, and until you have a definitive diagnosis as the result of a biopsy, it is best not to worry too much. I know...easier said than done.

Brian, stage 4 oral cancer survivor. OCF Founder and Director. The first responsibility of a leader is to define reality. The last is to say thank you. In between, the leader is a servant.