Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#144260 12-26-2011 08:40 AM
OP Offline

This is my first time posting, I have sat back and read alot of information on here and followed a lot of advice that has helped tremendously with my boyfriend. he was diagnosed stage 4m base of tongue & nodes. His treatment protocol started with the induction chemo (taxotere, cisplatin & 5FU) he got thru that & now is on chemo/rad. Chemo 1x a week (carboplatin) and 33 rad. He has had 20 treatments so far and has been living on the VHC carnations & boosts with protein powder or weight gainer. Those have gotten pretty horrible lately and we are looking for other possibilities. His naseua has also stepped up the last few days. Things tend to come back up. He is on zofran as a preventative and for " break thru" compazine. But the thickness/texture of the shake, even water.d down is becoming hard, not so much from the pain, no narcotics yet, but the naseau. Thank you very much for any ideas. Merry Christmas!

Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Hi, and welcome. I'm so sorry to read about the nausea and can definitely relate. You might look into Carafate which is an older line med, a liquid. Personally it didn't do a lot for me but we're all different and it might help him. Others I'm sure will offer suggestions too.

Hang in there. It's great of you to be such a help to him. Your attention and care are as important as any of his medical treatments. You're a hero.

Sending good thoughts to you both.

David 2
SCC of occult origin 1/09 (age 55)| Stage III TXN1M0 | HPV 16+, non-smoker, moderate drinker | Modified radical neck dissection 3/09 | 31 days IMRT finished 6/09 | Hit 14 years all clear in 6/23 | Radiation Fibrosis Syndrome kicked in a few years after treatment and has been progressing since | Prostate cancer diagnosis 10/18
OP Offline

Thank you David!

I will ask about the carafate tomorrow.