Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#138339 08-18-2011 11:18 AM
drk Offline OP
OP Offline

I am a 60 year old physician in internal medicine specializing in spinal cord medicine. On August 9th I felt a lump on my L neck. I had an FNA biopsy done the same day that has come back with metastatic P16+ squamous cell Ca. Still awaiting final staging.
I know a fair amount about cancer and have a idea from treating my own patients what a rough road is ahead of me.
I have lots of questions but two that I am interested in right now as far as planning.
I would be interested in knowing people's experience working during different stages of their treatment and when, if they did not work during any part of their treatment, they were able to return to work assuming remission or a cure.
I've learned alot from browsing through this MB. I'd also like to know if there are other message boards or forums that are especially helpful.
Thanks, DrK

drk #138341 08-18-2011 11:45 AM
"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)

Hello and welcome. Everyone reascts diferently to the tx for this disease. For myself, I thought I could keep working for a while but I only lasted about 3 days. I was driving public transit bus at the time and when the 1st wave of nausea hit I knew I couldn't work anymore. And I didn't return to work for almost 7 months because I was very fatigued and in a safety sensitive occupation that just wouldn't do. Many others had entirely different experience and I'm sure you will hear the full range, plus lots of support from the wonderful people here. I didn't find this site til weeks after my tx ended and seeing that other people had made it through and were getting on with their lives really helped. Good luck in your journey.

David R. 65 yr old male non-smoker, light drinker, stage 3 or 4, depending on which doc you ask, scc rt. tonsil, 2 nodes, 7 weeks radiation and chemo. No surgery. Teatment ended 3/20/08. PET scan 8/08 showed no cancer.