Posted By: laurenkuhly Anoyone else under 30years old???? - 04-08-2009 12:14 AM
Hello, I'm a newbie here and looking to see if anyone else is as young as I am? I was 23 almost 4 when I was diagnosed at stage 4 with squamous cell carcinoma (my spelling sucks) in my tounge and 4 of 16 lymphnodes. I've done multiple surgeries, radiation and also chemo. I had a reoccurance about 3 years ago in my lungs, but it was a quick surgery and no other treatments. When I was going through everything I was surrounded by older persons that smoked or drank their entire lives that caused the cancer, and I didn't. I love to help people and am always willing to tell them what I went through to help answer their questions, or just to be there to listen to them but sometimes I just want to be able to relate to someone else. It was hard for me (I'm sure not matter what age you are it will never be easy) and I just want to let someone else that is like me to know that they aren't alone.
Posted By: ChristineB Re: Anoyone else under 30years old???? - 04-08-2009 12:58 AM
Lauren
Welcome to OCF. Im sure you will find a few people around your age who have gone thru this. I can think of 3 members who are under 30. Sounds like you have come thru this very well. Thats a big advantage you have with your age, makes it so much easier on the body to get thru tx. Best of luck to you on your continued good health.
Posted By: Mark Re: Anoyone else under 30years old???? - 04-08-2009 12:58 AM
Hello Lauren, Welcome and thank you for relating your success. There are many here that will appreciate hearing your story. Yes there are others here that are young of age. Some others here are just young at heart.
Posted By: Brian Hill Re: Anoyone else under 30years old???? - 04-08-2009 12:59 AM
There are several of you here. I'll keep pushing your post to the top until one of them replies to you. You are definitely not alone in this, regardless of age.