Posted By: larry-b cancer walk - 05-01-2004 06:26 AM
i'm off to a cancer walk today with the local support group that i attended. many friends in the group didn't make it, but some of us are still here. this is my first time, so it brings back emotions that were somewhat removed as i've been out of the group for about 9 months. the entire support group agreed upon the name 'Kancer Kickers' that was suggested by Jim. Jim won't be there today.

it's a warm day with no rain... around the local zoo & park. i think i'll hang out with the strollers, not the serious walkers.

who else has been to a cancer walk and what were your experiences?

cu,
larryb
Posted By: DavidD Re: cancer walk - 05-01-2004 07:44 AM
I will be participating in our Walk for Life this June. It will be my first one as well. The Foundation has turned this into a weekend event for the whole family with entertainment etc. The first night is the Survivors Walk followed by the lighting of the Luminaries around the track. Anyone can purchase a Luminary in memory of someone who has lost the battle or who is fighting the battle or survived the battle.
I helped with the Daffodil Sale this year and enjoyed that very much. We managed to raise $31,687.00 to be used for Research, Public Education Programs and Patient Services. I hope we will do as well with the sale of the Luminaries. I should add that this money was raised between 2 small cities in the South East part of the Province. The total population combined is about 16,000 people.
Like Larry I'd love to hear about others doing the same thing and your experiences.
David
Posted By: Uptown Re: cancer walk - 05-01-2004 03:14 PM
Larry,

I am truly sorry your friend Jim won't be walking with you. I can't imagine how emotional that time will be for you. Sending kind thoughts and lots of love your way.