Posted By: AnitaFrances Hello, I am posting for the first time! - 09-25-2009 03:57 AM
I'm new to this. I am my husband's caregiver. November 2007, my husband had surgery for SCC, right mandibular retromolar trigone resection with free flap reconstruction. He is diabetic with excellent control of glucose (A1C 6). One week later, free flap became necrotic and had to be redone. PEG tube Jan 08 then six weeks radiation ending in March.

Post radiation infection with surgery to open and drain. Then HBOT (40 dives). PET--July, Oct., Dec. 08, and July 09 clear.

The first PET showed a loose screw in the center of the plate on his jaw and was removed in the surgeon's office. That hole never healed over and oozed junk for months.

Last April, the lower front edge of the plate broke through his skin near his chin and another screw came out. Since then, the skin has receded and one third of the plate is exposed. We found out today that he had fractured his jaw right where the first screw was!

He will be having jaw reconstruction in November using his fibula and skin graft from (R)leg. We are hopeful that this will correct a number of issues. ie jaw alignment, bite, mobility, vascularity and of course appearance.

So, has anyone out there been through this? The PS estimates 6 to 10 hours for the procedure and 6 days in hospital.

Anita
Posted By: Cookey Re: Hello, I am posting for the first time! - 09-25-2009 04:43 AM
Hi Anita and welcome to our family,

the procedures your husband has had are fairly common place now i am sorry to say,and a lot of our members have had them done .Unfortunately a few have had similar complications,but of course with diabetes present the chances of this happening are a lot higher.Lets hope this second go round will be more successful.I am sure you will gets lots of feedback from the guys here and keep us updated on his progress.

Posted By: deni Re: Hello, I am posting for the first time! - 09-25-2009 04:54 AM