Hello, I am unfortunately a new winner to the Oral cancer lottery. Non-smoker, moderate weekend drinker, yes HPV+. Needless to stay still bitter about the whole thing. I have many military/ college buddies who had led pretty much the same lifestyle as me and why did I end choosing the short straw!!I am a 38 year old male. I was diagnosed with T2N2Mx/ stage IVA on Mar 29th. Primary was R tonsil with 1 node involvement level II.

Had radical tonsillectomy with R neck resection at Wilmont Cancer center (Rochester, NY.) Surgery went well. This Tuesday will be 4 weeks post-op. They felt good with the surgery (negative margins and only one positive node) but the node did have focal Extracapsular extension frown so they want to do radiation to be safe.

Went to Roswell (Buffalo, NY) for 2nd opinion they said chemo (cisplatin) and radiation. Not sure what to do Wilmont says just radiation and Roswell say chemo and rads. frown so confused; I'm a Registered nurse so I have researched the side effects of both. Also I have read that HPV+ tumors respond well to tx; but not sure if that's with Rad alone or with chemo! I'm suppose to start Radiation on May 12th. Going to go to to Memorial Sloan Kettering on Friday for 3rd opinion. Not sure If I'm wasting my time; I'm sure they are going to say it's 50/50 flip a coin! frown scared and confused!
I know that the decision is ultimately up to me but would appreciate any advice!!

Charles

Charles,

Sloan is one of the best centers in the country. I think that opinion will be an important one for you.

I did radiation only for an earlier stage cancer but after coming to these boards I did make sure that all of my doctors agreed with that decision. I was lucky because all three opinions said the same thing (I got two second opinions just as you are doing).

We only get one first shot at this disease; second shots are almost always tougher. I think you will be able to make the best decision after talking to the folks at Sloan.