Thread Like Summary
ChrisCQ
Original Post (Thread Starter)
by Bray&Graysdad
Bray&Graysdad
Hi all,

I am a 39 year old relatively healthy male and was just diagnosed with SCC. I had a cluster of nodes removed last week and they were sent to pathology. Came back HPV positive and cancerous - SCC.

I have a 2 year old boy and my wife is due with our second boy in 2 weeks. There is no other option than cure.

My ENT is scheduling me at the local cancer center to be see by an oncologist and radiation therapist. I assume this will happen after aPET scan. We have good insurance, and my outlook is usually to be aggressive. Mistakes are costly, so I am looking for any advice. I want to see my boys grow up.

I'm new at this so forgive me for any faux pas!
Liked Replies
by Hockeydad
Hockeydad
Ray,

If it turns out to BOT (my guess). The standard treatment is 7 weeks of rad plus chemo. I am three weeks in. I worked from home a little the first 2 weeks. Now, forget it. I don't recommend driving either and I am only 12 miles from the treatment center. I get my second dose of chem tomorrow and expect to be ill for the next week.

Also the three weeks after treatment may be the worst. My point is you are going to find it difficult to work for a couple of months. It could be shorter or it could be much longer.

The treatment is hard stuff. My advice is plan on being out of service for a while. If you get by easier, great. But I can tell you it is not a lot of fun. You will need help. Get all that you can.
1 member likes this
by AnaD
AnaD