Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#99237 07-10-2009 08:30 PM
OP Offline

Hi,
I am a 40 year old teacher. I got remarried when in 2007. I knew that my husband's x was diagnosed with cervical dyspepsia and HPV right around the time they split in 2004, but I didn't know what that meant until I did the internet research on HPV after I got diagnosed a few months ago.
My husband was/is in total denial about what HPV is. He would tell me that his x blamed him for her cancer diagnosis and laugh it off in anger. He would tell me how could he possibly give someone cancer. I heard the same kind of thing from my mother-in-law. Being ignorant about HPV, I totally bought it too. I mean it does sound ridiculous that you could "catch cancer". Well now I know I have HPV 16 and I am so scared. I want to know how I can remain intimate with my husband and still protect myself. Like I said, I am so scared.
When I started dating my husband in 2005, I asked my doctor about HPV and she said not to worry about it because so many adults have it.
Anyway, I want to know what you do to protect your spouse from getting infected and what you would do differently.
Thanks for your time.

OCF Founder
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
OCF Founder

There is nothing that you can do about this. The good news is this. Just because you test positive today for HPV 16 (I assume you have had the virus subtyped to get this information) it does not mean that you will get cervical cancer or any other cancer associated with one of the very few oncogenic versions of HPV. People's immune systems for the most part clear this all the time. Only a few people of all those infected with it ever develop a cancer. My wife was positive for it 5 years ago and in no test since then has she been.