Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Offline

I have read quite a few postings under different forums and I am concerned. My mother, 85, has a large painful lump at the base of her throat. Cat scan shows that half her throat is closed, they referred us to a tumor center, appt is next Tuesday. Has not been diagnosed with cancer yet, but from all the forums here, that is probably what we are looking at. She has many medical problems already and all the treatments that I have read about on these boards may do her more harm than good and I am not sure she will survive them. If that is the case, and she chooses not to be treated, what will her death be like? Is this the nightmare it sounds like, will this be a horrific death without treatment, or are there things that the doctors will do to make living til the end a bit better/easier? I have been caring for her for the last two years because my father got ill and died of liver cancer. We cared for him at home til his time came, but this sounds much worse. Someone please enlighten me, what is around the corner for us?
Carol

"Above & Beyond" Member (300+ posts)
"Above & Beyond" Member (300+ posts)

Carol, my heart goes out to you and your Mother. There are several forum members who have had to travel the same road you're on, unfortunately. I'm sure many will offer their opinions. Know that there are those of us who care about you and what you're facing. Keep posting...

Lois & Buzz in NC

CG to 77 y/o hubby;SCC Alveolar Ridge; Wake Forest Baptist Hosp surgery: 07/19/07; bi mod radical resection/jaw replacement;
T2 N2-B M0 Stage IV-A
28 IMRT +
6 Paclitaxel/Carboplatin
Getting stronger every day!
OP Offline