Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
JoJo Offline OP
OP Offline

If anyone has any good ideas on quitting chewing tobacco, please help me. I've been chewing for about 14 years on and off and I can't quit. I say I'm going to, but I don't. I'm very angry and grumpy when I try to quit. I'm sure it's normal, but I need to stop. My kids ask me to all the time. I'm willing to try anything about now. I haven't been diagnosed with anything yet, but if I don't quit: I'm sure I will. If you guys have any ideas please respond. Thanks!

Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

JoJo, you have the right idea.

I suggest you read the following site, and then read it again when you feel yourself faltering.

http://www.sptimes.com/News/61599/Floridian/He_wanted_you_to_know.shtml

You are correct that it is most probably only a matter of time if you don't change your ways. We most certainly do not want you to be here seeking treatment information. That is meant in a kind manner.

In the article, there is an 800 number for the American Cancer Society to get information about resources available to help you.

As a former patient, I can only urge you to make quitting your number one priority.

"Above & Beyond" Member (300+ posts)
"Above & Beyond" Member (300+ posts)

Horror stories are somewhat effective, but ultimately it is up to you.
It is my understanding that the physical addiction is stronger from chewing tobacco than smoking.
You have made the ist step by declaring that you have a desire to quit, but do you really mean what you say. Somewhere in your mind there is doubt and until you come to face that doubt and be secure in yourself and your ability to be stronger than the addiction, you will fail. It is not easy, but you can do it.
Darrell

Stage 3, T3,N1,M0,SCC, Base of Tongue. No Surgery, Radiationx39, Chemo, Taxol & Carboplatin Weekly 8 Treatments 2004. Age 60. Recurrence 2/06, SCC, Chest & Neck (Sub clavean), Remission 8/06. Recurrence SCC 12/10/06 Chest.