Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#61467 08-10-2007 03:52 AM
paulie Offline OP
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline
Contributing Member (25+ posts)

it has been over two years now and i am not much closer to eating normal i have managed to put on 10 lbs and that is mostly from boost. am i the only one that the drs did not tell about all these after effects? i am new to this and dont know it reall works yet so any help woule be nice.if i could get a e mail with suggestions that would be nice as i doubt if i can find my way back in here.

paulie
#61468 08-10-2007 05:41 AM
Supporting Member (50+ posts)

I just got a peg tube 2 months ago and I am very depressed. I cannot eat by mouth I had a swallow test yeterday and fail again a lot of asperation. I am looking for answers too about life on a feeding tube. Is there such a thing. Any help would be appreciated

Jim W. DX and treated May 1997 stage 4 tonsil cancer 40 radiation 2X daily at the same time 8 weeks IV chemo cocktail 5 types on 5 days off 2 days refuesed neck resection. 10 years clear now swallow function ceased May 07 after pneumonia.
#61469 08-10-2007 05:55 AM

Paulie do you have a feeding tube? How have you put on 10 lbs? Can you eat at all? Do you asperate? Any feedback would be welcome.

Jim W. DX and treated May 1997 stage 4 tonsil cancer 40 radiation 2X daily at the same time 8 weeks IV chemo cocktail 5 types on 5 days off 2 days refuesed neck resection. 10 years clear now swallow function ceased May 07 after pneumonia.
#61470 08-10-2007 12:22 PM
"OCF Canuck"
Platinum Member (300+ posts)
"OCF Canuck"

Paulie & JIm,
It would be really helpful if you could both tell us where your cancer was, what sort of treatment protocols they followed, and what the diagnosis of your swallowing problem really is. It's impossible to guess or offer suggestions without knowing. As an example, I had almost half of my jaw, and most of the interior lining of my mouth removed and then reconstructed.