Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#27730 09-15-2005 04:24 PM
OP Offline

Well, reading these forums is eliviating my fears, and calmed me down some. I'd just like to say that this is a very friendly community and the support you guys gives to others comes accross everyone.
I'm sure this is nothing... but here goes
Im 19 years old, and I live in Anchorage Alaska. Im now a university student, and recently I've developed a few white painful sores on the bottom, inside part of my lip. It was also the same place where I also put some tabaccoo, (and I only did it a couple times, maybe 10 times my whole life time, but I did it about twice at work this summer)
I haven't told anyone yet personally, but I am calling dentists on the phone asking for advice. They do say I need to get it checked up. The sore is about 1 mm long, and there are 2 of them on the bottom portion of my lip. It is very painful to eat, and sometimes I notice that it can be hard to swallow (as if there were feathers in my throat blocking my esophogus). I also experience some drymouth more often than usual. Hopefully its just some swelling from like a bug bite, (what im hoping), but does any one have any information on this? I try to look online, I read the symptoms, and I fall under alot of categories. It ranges from Mouth cancer, small ulcers, canker sores, herpes, and various other cancers. It wasn't till I entered Mouth Cancer Treatment on google till I came across this site.
If anyone has any information on what I could possibly have, please reply.

Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Hello Georgie, First lets get to the part about never smoking or dipping again...got it?

There are many things that show up in the oral cavity that are not cancer. At your age it would be extremely unlikely that you have this kind of cancer. Possible yes but not likely. That dosn't mean you should ignore this but you shouldn't be living in fear.