Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#174653 11-29-2013 11:32 AM
OP Offline

Im 3 months out of radiation and chemo for oral cancer. I am new at this and looking for someone to talk too. I do not have a support group in my area for this type of cancer. I am experiencing a lot of pain at tumor sight and my hearing has been deeply impaired. The dry mouth is really taking a toll on my mood. Feel miserable anyone out there to chat with would be great help. Im 63 and retired military.Thank you

Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

Bill, There is a SPOHNC, Support for people with oral head and neck cancer, in Seattle, WA. With any pain, your doctors should be told, and rule out cancer, which can simply be done by exam, not 100%, but ruled out many of my concerns until my post treatment scan. Three months is still early, and can take up to two years to recover, some things never, and some things recover sooner. It takes time, basically. Keep doing what you did during treatment, not sure what, but there are many things to do that may lessen the severity if you don't know or may be doing already. Sounds like you may have had Cisplatin?

You can make your own post in "introduction" or this one moved, so you can get more responses. Good luck.

10/09 T1N2bM0 Tonsil
11/09 Taxo Cisp 5-FU, 6 Months Hosp
01/11 35 IMRT 70Gy 7 Wks
06/11 30 HBO
08/11 RND PNI
06/12 SND PNI LVI
08/12 RND Pec Flap IORT 12 Gy
10/12 25 IMRT 50Gy 6 Wks Taxo Erbitux
10/13 SND
10/13 TBO/Angiograph
10/13 RND Carotid Remove IORT 10Gy PNI
12/13 25 Protons 50Gy 6 Wks Carbo
11/14 All Teeth Extract 30 HBO
03/15 Sequestromy Buccal Flap ORN
09/16 Mandibulectomy Fib Flap Sternotomy
04/17 Regraft hypergranulation Donor Site
06/17 Heart Attack Stent
02/19 Finally Cancer Free Took 10 yrs

OP Offline