Next Thread
Print Thread
"OCF Down Under"
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline
"OCF Down Under"

Hi Everyone!
Hope you are all doing better than expected!
I had a tongue flap (after having cancer removed from my tongue) in 2007.
My speech is fine, and I am a professional singer.
Despite being told be all medical professionals I would not talk properly again, let alone sing, if people didnt know I'd had cancer, they sure wouldnt know by my speech, and I am still singing(!) LOVE proving the Drs wrong!
However, even though it has been a long time since surgery, my tongue is still fairly annoying and tight as is my neck. I'm just wondering if any of you have had physio for the tightness in your neck and tongue after having a tongue flap.

I have been told by a speech therapist that physio might help...before I outlay another few hundred bucks, Im wondering if any of you guys have done this?

Secoondly, does anyone from Melbourne, Australia, know of any GOOD Oral Physiotherapists in my city?
Thanks...and I send my best wishes out to you ALL
Cheers Lyn

Tongue Cancer SCC Removal of 2/3 of right side tongue, neck disection-34 lymph nodes removed. flap for new tongue made from left wrist in 2007. Now (mid 2011) speech has been back to normal since early 2009, and Im back working as a singer. So far so good!
2016... Still cancer free! Yay.
Gold Member (200+ posts)
Gold Member (200+ posts)

Lyn,