Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

raig

Since you posted the exact same question about radiation TX in two separate threads, I've reconsidered my initial decision not to reply (plus replied to both). I held back because we all try to be very positive and supportive here at OCF, and my experience was exactly the opposite of your understanding. While radiation was "challenging", all the real "damage" was done to me by my partial glossectomy and selective neck dissection. After my 40 IMRT TX and 8 Erbitux, I was back to eating normally, talking normally, and even did a triumphant "victory" trip to Rome & Venice.
The surgeries however devastated me. Plus my hospital stay of 12 days rivalled Dr. Brook's horror story.
I want to emphasize that I would do the surgeries all over again as that was the only way to stay alive.
I'm not a doctor and I'm in no position to evaluate your doctor's decision to treat your cancer with surgery first instead of radiation or chemotherapy. My understanding is the polar opposite of yours: I had thought radiation and chemo were now the first choices because of all the life long and permanent complications of surgery. However, my tumor was at the base of my tongue. It could very well be that your tumor is much more accessible and that you will sail through with flying colors and minimal complications. You asked about the "reality" of RT, and in my minds, it's the lesser of two evils. Since you asked for thoughts, those are mine.
Best Wishes
Charm

65 yr Old Frack
Stage IV BOT T3N2M0 HPV 16+
2007:72GY IMRT(40) 8 ERBITUX No PEG
2008:CANCER BACK Salvage Surgery
25GY-CyberKnife(5) 3 Carboplatin
Apaghia /G button
2012: CANCER BACK -left tonsilar fossa
40GY-CyberKnife(5) 3 Carboplatin

Passed away 4-29-13
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Oh Charm...I've missed your comments:) It's good to be back.