Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Senior Member (100+ posts)
OP Offline
Senior Member (100+ posts)

I know there are a wide range of strong opinions on this and I'm not trying to rekindle an old debate. Let me preface by saying I'm not a doctor...just a patient of this disease, so I present this purely as my opinion based on my recent experiences. I hope it is of value to somebody out there.

I know PET scans seem to have a bad rap for 'false positives'. Perhaps the criticism is not entirely without merit, as I have experienced a 'false positive' PET scan myself, as many of you have. I finished chemo and IMRT X 35 in May of 2006. In October 2006 I had a PET scan which indicated "possible recurrence in the right lateral tongue" - same place my original tumor was. Based on the PET scan, my doctor performed a biopsy, which came back negative for cancer. My doctor believes the PET gave a 'false positve' due to tissues in my mouth still healing from radiation. As far as I was concerned - GREAT! I was just sooo glad it's not cancer.

Since then, everything has looked great for me. There's been no signs of anything but progress. But last month (July 12) I had a checkup PET/CT scan. It indicated 'moderate FDG accumulation' in a lower jugular lymph node on my right side, and surrounding tissue. The corresponding CT indicated a slight enlargement of the same node. This was an area which was radiated to a lesser degree than my mouth in treatment, and had NOT previously been abnormal in previous PET/CT scans.

I just had a neck dissection last week. Due to the location of the suspicious area, my doctor felt a needle biopsy was too prone to be inaccurate, and felt we should take out all the nodes on that side.

The pathology came back from the dissection - the suspicious node was in fact cancerous, and as the PET scan suggested, the cancer had begun to spread to other tissues around the affected node (including my carotid artery).