Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Even for my FIL recovery from the surgery was not pretty easy. There are more long term effects from the radiation treatment, mostly xerostomia or dry mouth. It is now more than eight years since the surgery and radiation treatment. I think starting the medication for him before radiation treatment began helped minimize the effects of dry mouth which have not been as severe as expected. He had been advised to avoid spicy or acidic foods, toothpicks, mouthwashes containing alcohol, candy, gum, and soda unless they are sugar free, instead he can take natural dry mouth products. Although he does spend a lot of time, much more than he did before, taking care of his teeth and mouth.

Hello all. I am new to group. Had fourth surgery on tongue 20 months ago. The first three came back precancer, the last was cancer. I did not have chemo or radiation.
After this last surgery I have had a horrible time with the feeling of dry mouth. My mouth is not really all that dry, but my tongue swells and I have the feeling of being dehydrated. I drink gallons of liquid a day and have to just stop and sit sometimes to let the swelling of my tongue go down. The ENT seems a bit puzzled and has suggested Biotene, which has helped until recently.
Has anyone else had this difficulty after tongue surgery and have you found anything that helps?

David

marma Offline OP
Senior Member (100+ posts)
OP Offline

Hi David,

Sorry you're having this trouble. May I suggest creating a new topic under this forum in relation to your trouble? I suggest this merely because this thread is now buried and a new topic might yield more replies and recognition of the issue.

Just copy this and paste it as a new topic perhaps.

FIL completed treatment 10/08. CG to father in Law in india who had SCC oral tongue T2N2M0. FIL underwent surgery, neck dissection, IMRT, and erbitux without losing weight or getting nauseated. Completed October 2008. SO far so good.