Posted By: AsterGW Getting a diagnosis - 12-13-2021 06:34 PM
Hi, all, this is my first time posting on the forum.

I'm currently seeing an ENT for a swollen tonsil, swollen lingual tonsil, and swollen lymph nodes all on my right side.

I've had an ultrasound of my lymph nodes and they're "reactive but generally normal size", though they're fairly harder than I'd like.

My ENT currently suspects it's a bad infection, due to a 3d xray showing a huge mucus plug in my sinus. They did a laryngoscopy and noted my slightly swollen lingual tonsils, which my spouse thought I was crazy for noticing earlier.

I have a blood test tomorrow to rule out viruses etc. I was given a mouth wash to use daily until my followup.

However I'm struggling with knowing how much to tell my ENT in terms of things changing. Theres a small red dot now on my tonsil, where before there was not, and I dont want to sound alarmist or anxious, though I am terribly anxious about all of this.

I'm nearly 28, but I have a family history of cancer and I was immunocompromised as a child and early teen.

My ENT overall suggested a tonsillectomy would be in my future, and I want ot make sure they biopsy my lymph node before the tonsillectomy, in order to not have a surprise diagnosis afterward.

I guess I'm here looking for support, overall.

Thank you kindly for getting through this post.

-Aster
Posted By: Brian Hill Re: Getting a diagnosis - 12-24-2021 08:13 PM