Posted By: dogman Smoking & drinking - 10-11-2006 06:20 PM
Just wondering how many smoked or drank????
Im 54 started smoking at 21 stop 6 years before my cancer, have not had a drink of anything for 26 years. My doctors say it was my smoking.
I was inform that this is the leading cause for OC. I have not read a thread on this but Im also new to this great Web site.
Posted By: Stoj Re: Smoking & drinking - 10-11-2006 06:29 PM
I smoked and drank; I smoked about a pack a day for 15 years and I drank socially, nothing to heavy a beer or cocktail every now and then. I quit smoking in Jun after my Dx haven't had a drink since then either. My Dr says drinking is only a cause if its done to excess. So I'll probably have drink some where down the road. I haven't really thought about it though.
Posted By: linroth Re: Smoking & drinking - 10-11-2006 07:08 PM
I smoked from the age of 18 to 29. I told myself I'd quit before I hit 30, and so I did. I am now 48yrs. old (49 next mo), so that was 18 yrs. ago that I quit. Every doctor I told, didn't seem concerned since I quit so long ago. They tell you to quit, which I did and still got it. Hey, who knows what caused this?? As for drinking, I'd say I'm a social drinker. Maybe a beer or glass of wine once a week. I've only had one glass of wine since treatment ended. I have read that there is a high recurrance rate for people who drink heavily. But again, there are so many other things all of us are exposed to in everyday life.
Posted By: wilckdds Re: Smoking & drinking - 10-11-2006 07:16 PM
I smoked from age 15 to 18. Hardly drank, ever. Was 59 when I got scc. I have no doubts that there was no relation to either as a cause.

Jerry
Posted By: davidcpa Re: Smoking & drinking - 10-11-2006 07:54 PM