I have just finished reading the book "How Doctors Think" by Dr. Jerome Groopman (who also wrote "The Anatomy of Hope" which I think is a book listed on the OCF book list page). "How Doctors Think" is a book I'd recommend to everyone here who has to have an ongoing relaitonship with a doctor or doctors because of having had cancer (or even if you haven't, there's also a lot of good stuff in there about the errors primary care physicians can make as well).

I have to say I may be a bit biased in how fascinating I found it because it is really the cognitive psychology of medical diagnosis, reasoning and decision making and my Ph.D. is in cognitive psychology. Actually even my area of specialization was related in that I studied categorization--and of course that's exactly what medical diagnosis is. At the time I was in graduate school I did read a fair about about the psychology of medical diagnosis--but that was 15 years ago now so this was a welcome refresher. If I've just made that sound unappealing to anyone without my vocational interests, let me just say that Groopman is a great writer and illustrates all his points through really interesting examples (he also writes for the New Yorker magazine and you may have read some of his writing there).

I was just reading a discussion somewhere on these boards about how bad doctors can be sometimes about really spending the time that is needed on you--even when they are considered experts, etc. and that is one of his big points in the book is that the pressure on doctors to see a lot of patients leads to a bunch of cognitive errors.