Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#53635 02-22-2005 12:11 PM
ZendaT Offline OP
Senior Member (100+ posts)
OP Offline

The maitake mushroom has been touted as an immune-enhancing and anti-cancer agent. Does anyone have personal experience or information to share?

Be well. Zenda

Be well. Zenda
12/04 SCC Tonsil, Stage IV T3N2BM0. Mod RND, resect right oropharynx, free-flap, resect right tongue base. Erbitux,Docetaxel,RT X 33. 6/08 Mets lung, hilar lymph node:Carboplatin, Docetaxel. 2010 2nd clinical trial:lung clear, node stable. ORN,trismus,dysphagia. 8-10/2012 cryoablation,brachytherapy,cyberknife to lymph node. 12/12 NED. 6/13 Mets RLL lung: 8/13 cyberknife. 11/13 NED.
#53636 02-22-2005 02:17 PM
Patient Advocate (1000+ posts)

Hello Zenda,

I have no knowledge of the mushroom you call maitake. You might want to go to quackwatch and search for information. It may or not be on there but we have learned there are so many
false claims about cancer cures. Most are just out to prey on cancer victims and make money at it. If I may quote Gary, "There is a special place in hell for them"

Danny Boy

Daniel Bogan DX 7/16/03 Right tonsil,SCC T4NOMO. right side neck disection, IMRT Radiation x 33.

Recurrance in June 05 in right tonsil area. Now receiving palliative chemo (Erbitux) starting 3/9/06

Our good friend and loved member of the forum has passed away RIP Dannyboy 7-16-2006
#53637 02-22-2005 02:56 PM
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

Danny Boy, Zenda, here it is:

second to last paragraph before "bottom line"

http://www.quackwatch.org/01QuackeryRelatedTopics/hfsadvice.html

Sorry - like anything else in life "if it sounds too good to be true - it probably is".

Nice ride Danny - you deserve it!

Gary Allsebrook
Dx 11/22/02, SCC, 6 x 3 cm Polypoid tumor, rt tonsil, Stage III/IVA, T3N0M0 G1/2
Tx 1/28/03 - 3/19/03, Cisplatin ct x2, IMRT, bilateral, with boost, x35(69.96Gy)
"You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes" (James 4:14 NIV)