Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

I finished my radiation in March and I am still unable to swallow food or liquid due to severe pain. Is this normal?

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hello,

Not being a doctor I can't say what's normal, but (there's always a but) I can say that I've read on message boards about people that still had their feeding tubes in a year after radiation.
I do believe that everyone is different and likewise their individual healing time after radiation is different. I finished mine in January and still have difficulty swallowing some things and am sensitive to spicy and strong foods.
My last visit to the doctor I was told it would be at least 18 months before I knew what taste buds I would have or saliva I can expect to keep.
Have you discussed this with your doctor and does he find it unusual? Is he concerned about infection or anything? What has he told you?

Sorry I couldn't be more helpful, but I know someone that knows more about the process will come along and offer info.

Take care,
Dinah

OCF Founder
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
OCF Founder

Given my own experience, and from what I hear from many patients, you are very normal in your recovery. I have posted here before saying that most people can count on one month of recovery for every week of radiation. I was 10 months out of radiation before I was eating enough to consider having my PEG tube out. I was over a year out before my taste stabilized, with different things returning at different times. (First salty, then bitter, then sour, finally sweet. Sweet never returned completely and chocolate, that I used to love tastes like lard now). It sounds like you are experiencing the normal course of recovery.

Brian, stage 4 oral cancer survivor. OCF Founder and Director. The first responsibility of a leader is to define reality. The last is to say thank you. In between, the leader is a servant.
Supporting Member (50+ posts)