Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
m Offline OP
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

G'day!

I am trying to get my head around the site as I am new to it. People have been very helpful in responding to my question about the PEG tube but now I think I am the one who need a bit of help in preparing myself with what is ahead.

Just introduce us a wee bit, my husband David who is 45 has been dx on 10th January 06 with a SCC of the base of the tongue. I'm 42. Although we saw it come since September 05 but the biopsies where always negative and nothing was conclusive on any scans that that he had a SCC, it is still surreal. The docs processed to a radical neck dissection on the 10th and then made the dx. He had 2/36 right nodes infiltated, encapsulated with clear margins, 1st node is 3.4 cm at the larger end and 2nd one is 0.6mm. We are accepting the whole situation but it did hit us like a brick in the face as D's has absolutely no behaviour normally associated with this CA. Actually he has such a great lifestyle and is so in good shape, it really came out of nowhere. We need to do the staging but from all our readings he is probably a stage 3 or 4 depending of the site we read!! So following the radical on 01/10/05, he had 9 teeth extracted on 01/27/05, he's in the process of deciding if he will have a PEG tube and in 2.5 weeks he will start 7 weeks of radiation.

Now this is why I am writing to you. We have 3 children; Esther is 12, Victor-Luc is 10 and Philippe is 6. I think we have managed to explained and live well so far. My dilemna now is how I am going to managed them when David will have his radiation. From what I read and listen to people's experiences, at one point during the radiotherapy David will need to make sure that all his energy is focused on making through the day.