Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#38206 02-19-2005 02:55 PM
OP Offline

I want to share the story of my wife, thankfully so far a good story, in hopes it may help anyone out there.

First off, I am NOT a doctor.

My wife was diagnosed with severe dysplasia / non-invasive squamous cell carcinoma in-situ 7 years ago on a lesion underneath the back of her tongue. Since then she has undergone 4 surgeries to remove the recurring lesion, which has always come back from pathology as the same result.

Her last surgery was 2 years ago, and did not come back with clear margins. She continued in pain for the last 2 years and put off seeing the doctor (which I do NOT recommend!). I am rabid in my determination to help my wife through this and have conducted my own research via the web and through various contacts I have with health professionals. We tried most of the 'alternate therapies' such as herbs, vitamins, diets, lifestyle changes, etc. Some things helped a bit, but the biopsies dont lie.

For the last year I have been tracking the developments in cervical cancer and its direct relation to HPV, a disease very similar to herpes in the way it affects squamous cell DNA. I approached several ENT doctors about this and received a shake of the head and not much else. I decided to dig a little deeper.

I am not a genecist or a doctor of any kind, what I am about to advise is not from a scientific study or anything like that. It is purely personal experience.