Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2

amy,
I have just been diagnosed with scc, it was in my tonsils which they removed 8/4/06. But it has spread to my lymp nodes. Now I have to go thur chemo and radiation. I'm scared but I trust in God. I know how you feel you must do all the research cause I'm the same way. But take time to play a game, go for a walk, talk to somebody who can encourage you, read (not on your cancer), some good books are Spiritual faith, prayer books, ect. A great place to play games is on pogo.com... it's a great place lots of games. I'm just starting and I feel my life has been just turned upside down.. But I also have 3 children the youngest is 4. if they see my fear they will fear. So i spend alot of time doing things with them like painting, scrapbooking, and reading the bible. God Bless you all and your in my prayers.

marie
Supporting Member (50+ posts)
Supporting Member (50+ posts)

Hey Amy,

I'm a psychologist: A happy-go-lucky guy if ever you saw one. I'm the last person I ever thought would start taking an antidepressant. I thought I could use my vast education to get me through anything.

Bottom line: I regret every painful day i didn't take Zoloft. I'm not ashamed of a damned thing, especially doing something that helps me not hate life. Heck, I'd wear a Zoloft t-shirt if I could get one.

Just one formally macho guy's experience. Your mileage may vary.

Teamshrink

Age 46; SCC BOT T3N1M0l dx 9/06
Cisplatin x3; radiation x42
Completed tx 10/31; Selective neck dissection 12/06
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
Contributing Member (25+ posts)

Hi Amy, I had 2 horrible bouts of depression after my surgery. First about 3 weeks post and I was on an anti depressant. I couldnt go back to work and I cried all of the time. I swiched to another anti depressant and felt better after about 2 weeks.