Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
PeteyB Offline OP
"Above & Beyond" Member (300+ posts)
OP Offline

Source of specimen: Tongue lesion

Essential Clinical Data: Left margin. 2 cm x 1 cm.1 month???

Gross Description: Received in formalin labled tongue are several glistening, irregualar shaped, tan, mucosal tissue fragments measuring 0.4x0.3x0.2 cm in aggregate. Submitted in toto in one cassette.

Final Diagnosis: TONGUE LESION BIOPSY:
ULCERATED SQUAMOUS MUCOSA WITH CHRONIC INFLAMATION AND REACTIVE CHANGE. NO DIAGNOSTIC EVIDENCE OF MALIGNACY IS SEEN.

Well, what do YOU ALL THINK???
lIKE I SAY I'M JUST LEARNING. 8 1/2 MONTHS AGO I NEW ZILTCH....

From what I know now, SQUAMOUS MUCOSA, AND REACTIVE CHANGE. THESE SHOULD HAVE BEEN RED FLAGS, DON'T YOU THINK???

Also, don't you think that I should have been advised to have it removed??? While it was benign???

Dr. still wants me to go to Shands at FLA. ST. For consultation.

PLEASE ADVISE.. Thank You, PeteyB. frown

DX 3-21-07 L tongue,SCC Stage IV (T3N2MO) TX Slash/Burn/Poison Method.
***Rapid Aggressive Recurrence 8-4-07 with same DX/TX. Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh. Never Give Up! ****UPDATE**** Our dear friend Petey passed away, RIP 9-2-07
"Above & Beyond" Member (500+ posts)

Petey