Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

Hello. My name is Laura and my Dad, Ted, has Stage 4 SCC of the front mandible. I am just starting to learn all of the terminology so please bear with me. He has a large tumor and we are not sure how much it has invaded the bone. They have found another growth in his neck. My Dad is 70 years old and has received a surgery date of October 25th (which 20 days seems like forever) at Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia. My Stepmom,Julie and I are his CGs . . . My Dad is scheduled for a composite resection of the mandible and neck dissection.

My Dad is taking this all okay . . .he has a sense of humor that I know he uses to mask his fears.

I am scared to death and cannot thank Lois and Buzz for kindly reaching out to me last week . . . just when I needed to hear from someone who can understand what I am feeling and answer my questions.

We met with the surgeon today and I am home now panicking. I don't know how to do this . . . I never had to help take care of someone after surgery, or radiation. My Stepmom does not do well at all under stress so I have her also to deal with . . .