Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline

Dear Friends,

I have been watching this site for a few weeks, although I didn't find it until months after I was diagnosed and treated. I was diagnosed in early January with Stage IV SCC of the base of the tongue, with extensive left side node involvement. I am being treated at the Kellogg Cancer Center, which is part of Northwestern University. I am also a medical health professional, a medical research administrator who works (ed?) for a large medical research and program development non profit affiliated with the public hospital system in Chicago. I have also been a member of an IRB, the hospital-based body that reviews human subject protocols for protection of the subject's rights for the past thirty years. Ironically, I have been the primary reviewer on several late stage head and neck protocols, some of which I think some of you must be on. My purpose on that committee is to review the protocols as a non-scientific member. Most importantly, answering the question as to whether or not the informed consent document is intelligible to patients.

My treatment is through a University of Chicago national protocol, nicknamed the Dignity Trial for locally advanced SCC of the oropharynx, Stage III-IV. (where do they come up with these stupid names? Dignity, blue gloves poking around your tongue constantly? I don't think so.) In this trial there are two arms: The study arm is a 3 week pre-treatment trial of chemo followed by five every other week cycles of chemo (5FU, hydroxyurea and taxotere)+ 20 bid radiation sessions. Then the patient is re-evaluated for surgery as necessary. The control arm does not include the induction chemo.