Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#22792 04-12-2007 05:09 AM
Allan Offline OP
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

hi i am new to all this i have had mri scan ,pet scan and ct scan my right tonsil removed and three biopsys the found the primary at the base of my tongue just above my voice box , i have just had the mask made and i am about to start 7 weeks of chemo and radition .. i see my surgeon tommorow to discuss the fitting of the peg , slightly panicing about peg insertion , and wondering how the treatment will go but it has been a great help reading other peoples problems . ps i am from england and being treated there hope you wont hold this against me ..bye for now

age 52 heavy drinker and heavy smoker stage 111 squamous cell at base of tongue trying to give them all up ,8 lot of cetuximab and 35 lots of radiation , gave up smoking at the start of treatment. only drink now in moderation
#22793 04-12-2007 05:45 AM
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

How great that you found this site! And welcome! There are lots of wonderful, compassionate and knowledgeable people here to help with whatever questions you have. There is a wealth of information on this site (starting with the home page) so you can put together whatever questions you have for the doctor. My son did not have a PEG but lots of people here have and if you do a search (from home page) for "PEG" you will get all kinds of encouraging information. Let us know what happens with the doctor tomorrow.

Anne-Marie
CG to son, Paul (age 33, non-smoker) SCC Stage 2, Surgery 9/21/06, 1/6 tongue Rt.side removed, +48 lymph nodes neck. IMRTx28 completed 12/19/06. CT scan 7/8/10 Cancer-free! ("spot" on lung from scar tissue related to Pneumonia.)

#22794 04-12-2007 06:25 AM
Gold Member (100+ posts)
Gold Member (100+ posts)

Allan,

Welcome to the site, but sorry you had to join our club.