Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#19972 03-20-2006 06:15 AM
Senior Member (100+ posts)
OP Offline

Hello,
I'm brand new to this, having just recently been diagnosed with stage 2 Oral SCC. Not sure whether this is the best place to post just to say hello.
I'm 38 yr old male and very active. For about seven years I had battled with erosive oral lichen planus. For anybody who hasn't heard of that, basically it's an auto-immune thing they have no cure for and it just eats away at the tissues of the tongue and mouth. I'd had three previous biopsies done and they were all clear. The condition would come and go in 'waves', getting better, then worse, then better.
Last summer it got pretty bad and into the fall/winter it was worse than I'd ever had it. In February I went back in and they did another biopsy - this time, bad news.
Further scans and diagnosis revealed I had a 4cm x 2cm x 2cm tumor in the base of my tongue, it had not yet gotten into my lymph nodes and everything else looked ok.
My doc determined that the tumor is too big to remove surgically (with a margin) without doing significant damage to my ability to speak, swallow, etc.
So, I am scheduled to start radiation and chemo in about a week. I had a PEG tube installed last week, with some complications. It became infected and I wound up in the ER over the weekend in intense pain. Three shots of morphine and I was still crying for my mama. They put me on heavy antibiotics and things are now improving about 48 hrs later.
I hate to bring that up and scare anybody about the PEG tube. I know it's typically an easy thing and I'd never even heard of anybody having trouble. I did everything for after-care they told me too, so who knows. I could have been pysically pre-disposed to an infection. I did have a slight fever the day of 'install' (99.1F) but they did it anyhow.