Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#193642 12-25-2016 09:35 PM
kashmir Offline OP
OP Offline

In 2010, I noticed that I had a sore on my tongue (white leukoplakia with a red part) that wouldn't go away. Not long after I first noticed it, I had it (at least the leukoplakia, maybe the red part too) biopsied in my dentist's office (I was a graduate student at the time), and the pathology report said it was an epithelial hyperkeratosis. In hindsight, although it wasn't diagnosed as cancer, I should have been more diligent about monitoring the sore. Because it didn't seem to be getting larger or more painful, and because I was so busy with graduate studies, I didn't take further action.

Earlier this fall (2016, now done graduate studies and in a postdoctoral position), I noticed that the sore became more painful, and I developed a slight sore throat that never went away. So I first went to an orthodontist, who told me to see an oral surgeon. I had a biopsy done. Several weeks ago, the pathology report said that it is a Stage 1 tongue cancer. So the oral surgeon referred me to a clinic at the UW-Madison. The ENT doctor did not change his diagnosis at the second opinion appointment. The doctor said that someone still has to look at the biopsy to confirm the cancer diagnosis before we go through with the surgery.