Next Thread
Print Thread
#190360 07-25-2015 12:26 AM
MandaRe Offline OP
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

Hello everyone....
So I am halfway through my second cycle of Induction Chemo. After the third cycle I am supposed to start chemo-radiation. I'm going in next week for the planning session and will be able to ask some of these questions then but...thought I'd ask you first...the warriors who have been through it.

I am a teacher. And much of my speech has returned!!! As well as my ability to eat and swallow!!!

I've been off work since the beginning of June when I received my diagnosis. I took that time off because the tumor covered 90% of my oral tongue (all below the surface)and my speech had rapidly deteriorated.

Were any of you able to work during chemo-radiation? I've been told they are hoping to continue the aggressive line of treatment they started during Induction Chemo and give high dose Cisplatin as the chemo during Radiation. Am I able to work around students and undergo radiation therapy?

I can take a leave and have been leaning that way all along, but I we are entitled to a retro pay out on Oct. 1st---if I am on leave when that is disbursed I have to wait until Oct 2016. I am trying to keep my family in as good financial standing as possible and obviously that money will help. Obviously if it's too difficult or not advisable then we'll make do as we have been so very lucky to be surrounded my amazing support in our community with dinners and keeping our boys busy and entertained in as close to normal teenage life as possible.

Thoughts?

DX 6/5/15 Stage 4a SCC left lateral tongue, tumor involves 90% of my oral tongue
LVI and PNI identified
Med Port and PEG 6/23/15
Started Cycle 1 of Induction Chemo (TPF) 6/24/15--3 cycles in total
35 External Radiation sessions and concurrent chemotherapy (2 additional rounds of Cisplatin)
Brachytherapy
Remission as of 2/17/16
Administrator, Director of Patient Support Services