Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
Contributing Member (25+ posts)
OP Offline

Surgery isnt an option because the cancer is so thin on the skin and is coveting his entire neck. It isnt even showing up on scans...they only know from two hole-punch biopsies. I read alot about photodynamic therapy and it seems that it makes sense, but im no doctor. I am going to reach out to another CCC in the area and see if they have any other options for us, including proton therapy and photodynamic therapy. My dad starts chemo tomorrow, but i think they are writing this off as incurable. Unfortunately, this hospital only see 2 to 3 skin metastases each year with poor prognosis. I am trying to remain optimistic in the fact that its only in the skin and not in the lymph nodes or in any other organs. We are looking into clinical trials as well, but i am not sure if he is eligible or even wants to go that route.

Today our visiting nurse asked us if we wanted to setup hospice care which really frustrated us. My dad is healthy and stable. I get this is uncommon and ominous, but he isnt at that point. The doctor said there was a 20 percent chance his stage 1 cancer would become aggressive and an even lower percentage that it would spread to his skin. Those odds have not been in my favor, but hoping the slim odds that chemo woll get rid of it will. Theres always hope!

Caregiver to father
DX:4/14 Surgery:5/14 resection, ND
TX: 33 IMRT complete 9/14
Scan: 10/14, suspicious area tongue & neck.
Biopsy confirmed SCC BOT 2nd Primary, right lateral tongue.
11/14: surgery partial glossectomy, pec flap, trach, NG tube, ND
12/14: debridement surgery, small area removed for clear margins
12/14: biopsy positive for SCC dermal metastasis
1/15: chemo: erbitux, taxol and carboplatin
3/15: 5FU, Erbitux
8/15: enrolled in PD-1 Immunotherapy
9/15: Heaven got a new angel <3
"OCF Canuck"
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)
"OCF Canuck"