Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#187200 12-14-2014 08:21 PM
OP Offline

My goal is to gather information, assimilate it and develop a strong, strategic plan.

My story: I had a knot on the inside of my right cheek for about a year from a cheek bite that never healed properly. It was slowly getting bigger (but not fast and not much) and very painful. I tried everything before finally going to the dentist. He took a cursory look and said all I needed to do was get my wisdom teeth pulled. I pressed him - couldn't you remove it, or biopsy it? No, it will go back to normal after you have your wisdom teeth out. Since I make my living over the phone, it took me awhile to find the right time to get them pulled. As soon as the oral surgeon saw the 'knot' he said I definitely needed to get it biopsied. A few weeks later, I followed through and had it removed. Came back positive and I was referred to an ENT whom I happen to know from a previous visit.

Scans are being set up this week (PET & MRI, with & w/o contrast), then staging. ENT also ordered the biopsy be tested for HPV. I am 52, healthy, non-smoker, non-drinker (now - I can't tolerate alcohol or wheat), exercise 3-4x a week (swim 10-38 laps) but could be more physically fit.

I am trying to research how to prepare for C&R, wondering about getting a second opinion (what to look for, where to go in Orange County, CA), and what the best complimentary (naturopathic) practices are to support this condition and what is to come.

All suggestions are welcome as this is new and very unfamiliar territory.

11/2014 - DX SCC, S3N0M0
Non-smoker/drinker/drugs, no cancer of any kind in family, HPV negative
2/10/15 neck dissection, nodes removed (all clear), moderately differentiated mass removed from cheek & hinge of jaw, free flap graft. Clear margins. Micro infiltration into some of the vascular structures in the local area of tumor. PEG tube 1 week later
4/6/15 - Begin 40 Rads & 4 rounds Cisplatin