Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
midsummer #186850 11-25-2014 03:36 PM
Patient Advocate (old timer, 2000 posts)

I have no personal experience with them having had a punch, and an incisional biopsy once myslf, other than the usual FNAB's, surgical biopsies, but thought the article may have included the OralCDx, which is a trade name.

Here is an insurance article that mentions the OralCDx.

http://www.aetna.com/cpb/medical/data/600_699/0686.html

10/09 T1N2bM0 Tonsil
11/09 Taxo Cisp 5-FU, 6 Months Hosp
01/11 35 IMRT 70Gy 7 Wks
06/11 30 HBO
08/11 RND PNI
06/12 SND PNI LVI
08/12 RND Pec Flap IORT 12 Gy
10/12 25 IMRT 50Gy 6 Wks Taxo Erbitux
10/13 SND
10/13 TBO/Angiograph
10/13 RND Carotid Remove IORT 10Gy PNI
12/13 25 Protons 50Gy 6 Wks Carbo
11/14 All Teeth Extract 30 HBO
03/15 Sequestromy Buccal Flap ORN
09/16 Mandibulectomy Fib Flap Sternotomy
04/17 Regraft hypergranulation Donor Site
06/17 Heart Attack Stent
02/19 Finally Cancer Free Took 10 yrs

midsummer #186862 11-26-2014 08:08 AM
"OCF Canuck"
"OCF Canuck"

Personally a brush biopsy is a brush biopsy - name aside. That said the issue is this; it takes the surface ONLY. So you may have some dead skin, maybe some fungus - possibly inflammation, but it's what's underneath that may make a difference. My first biopsy came back inflamed tissue (and that was a surgical biopsy). The entire underside of my tongue was red, inflamed and painful but there was no indication of an ulcer or anything. The tumor was inside my tongue. Now it's unlikely this is the case with you as it is painless for you therefore anything going on is likely to be superficial. However. I would do as he says, get the results if they are negative for cancer, then keep an eye on the area, and if it changes go back immediately - if not do the follow up after three months. If you are still concerned after the results go for the punch biopsy on the second.
hugs and hopefully it's nothing.